Tags

, , , ,

glass-of-waterWhenever I got to my Cambridge Consultant, she’s always hammering on about water. “Keep up with you water”, “Make sure you’re drinking lots of water” – so I’ve been passing the advice to my friends and colleagues. So after having a good old google at why water is good for weightloss, I thought it would be a good time to write a few notes on what I’ve learned.

According to some boffin somewhere (I’ve reclaimed the word boffin since being dumped by my girlfriend in year 6 for being a “boffin” – Well, fuck you bitch – anyway…) .. according to someone we should aim to drink 8 glasses of water every day. I consider a glass to be about 250ml or 8oz – correct me if I’m wrong. When  you’re dieting, I think it’s a good idea to increase this by about 50% and it’s also important to reduce salt intake – because salt can result in water retention. So you know when you feel bloated from drinking water, if you reduce salt then you wont feel this.

They do say is well that water does also make you feel full, so it sort of tricks your brain into thinking that you’ve eaten, so you’re not hungry. That’s what they say in practice, it’s not so straight forward, I think it can delay the feeling for an hour or so – which works a treat as it can stop you going to bed hungry – though you may wake up in the night needing a piss. I have found though that drinking water in big gulps also can make me feel a bit sick, not that it’s impossible to get poorly from drinking too much water, but you’d have to drink a ridiculous amount.  It’s always best to listen to your body – and it’s always good to have a little glance at the colour of your wee. Is it coming out like snot? Then drink more water – Is it clear, then you can ease off – also take notice of the amount of times you’re getting up to urinate. It’s not rocket science.

Here’s a bit of a summary – Credit to www.caloriesperhour.com 

  • Initial weight loss is largely due to loss of water, and you need to drink an adequate amount of water in order to avoid dehydration.
  • The process of burning calories requires an adequate supply of water in order to function efficiently; dehydration slows down the fat-burning process.
  • Burning calories creates toxins (think of the exhaust coming out of your car), and water plays a vital role in flushing them out of your body.
  • Dehydration causes a reduction in blood volume; a reduction in blood volume causes a reduction in the supply of oxygen to your muscles; and a reduction in the supply of oxygen to your muscles can make you feel tired.
  • Water helps maintain muscle tone by assisting muscles in their ability to contract, and it lubricates your joints. Proper hydration can help reduce muscle and joint soreness when exercising.
  • A healthy (weight loss) diet includes a good amount of fiber. But while fiber is normally helpful to your digestive system, without adequate fluids it can cause constipation instead of helping to eliminate it.
  • Drinking water with a meal may make you feel full sooner and therefore satisfied eating less. Note, however, that drinking water alone may not have this effect. In order to feel satiated (not hungry), our bodies need bulk, calories and nutrients.

In practice I should add that when I started to increase the amount of water that I was drinking I found that my weight loss increased and my skin was clearer and I felt better inside. Since our bodies are something like 70% water, then flushing it through can only be a good thing.

 

