Tags

, , ,

I did it. I fucking did it. I managed to run (well, run the majority of the time) around the route that I had in my head last night – and I wont lie to you, I’m in horrible pain at the moment and I’m walking like I’ve been shagged by Dolph Lundgren – which obviously wouldn’t of been a bad thing..

Running

What I think is important to note is that this pains that I’m feeling are NOT because of a calorie deficiency, because I have taken breaks from running in the past and the first one back has always felt like this.

I’ve been reading lots of posts recently on forums about training on a VLCD (very low calorie diet) and even though mental cardio is really not recommended, it’s still important to do something. Now, there is a lot of hate on these website for The Cambridge Diet. Obviously this hate has come from a lot of people who seem to live in the gym and have no real idea what the diet really is: So, if you’re new to this blog – or you need a bit of a refresher here’s some basic facts:

The Sole Source (packs only) part of the diet should be done for no more than 12 consecutive weeks.

Each pack has 33% of the RDA of the following:

Vitamin A, D, E, C, B5, B12, Zinc, Potassium… that’s just to start click here for the full nutrition information.

You should eat 3 packs a day (4 is allowed if you’re a man)  – I am a gent, but I only have 3 packs.

You should drink at least 3 litres of water a day. This does NOT include water in tea and coffee.

As part of the diet, you should see a consultant every week. My consultant is called Sharon, she doesn’t push products onto me and she gives me good advice and also I have someone I’m accountable too.

Now, the packs have about 14g of carbs (so we’re looking at about 42g of carbs a day) which isn’t like a zero (Atkins style diet) but you still go into Ketosis and your body uses fat as its primary source of energy (not carbs)

The water helps to flush out the toxins which allow your body to easily break down this fat.

It works.

If you’re a food addict like myself, the last place you need to go is the Supermarket because some people are not good with food discipline. It’s a fact of life, we diet, we binge, we diet, we binge.

That’s a fact of life.

We don’t like going to a gym – in my case it’s not because I don’t like working out, it’s because everyone is a twat. Every gym I’ve been to, I’m surrounded by this mist of homoeroticism as these men check themselves out while injecting themselves with steroids and congratulating themselves on how wonderful they look. Makes me sick.

So that’s Cambridge – and yes, it’s sustainable. The trick is when you reintroduce “normal” foods into your diet is that you do it gradually and that you maintain a balanced active lifestyle.

Fuck it, it’s not even that. It’s maths. Burn more calories that you consume. Easy.

Anyway – speaking of burning calories -with my run yesterday and the walking, I managed to burn 1, 174 calories – and I only consumed 414. I did switch a pack for a large chicken breast which I boiled as I wanted to add some extra protein after my exercise.

I’m going to listen to my body.. but keep it moving, I think the walking is really helping too. I have to stop when I need to. Rome wasn’t built in a day.

So moving on…

 

