Tags

,

When I woke up this morning, it didn’t feel anything like a new year should – first of all, I didn’t have a hangover. I didn’t feel that I was ready to be “a new me” and my only complaint was the burning shits I suffered as a result of asking for my Duck Satay to be extra spicy from the night before. 

2013 was a great year for me. Professionally things are moving along nicely. I tend not to talk about my job online because everything else about my bloody life is accessible via twitter I think it’s nice to keep a few things sacred.

2013 started a bit funny, I had a party to bring in the new year which was in some respects a disaster – which probably led to my birthday party consisting of my, a packet of marlboro lights and a bottle of vodka. 

However, it was a year for me of clarification. I’m approaching my mid thirties and it’s become so clear me how different I was 10 years ago. I spent 10 years saying I was the same immature, emotionally wreckless person I always was and without a clue I’d found myself growing up – not too much though – I’m still a geek with a bank account (dramatically reduced) thanks to Sony and Microsoft deciding to release their new consoles a week apart and a month before Christmas. Bastards. 

One thing that has become quite clear to me is that I’m more comfortable in my own skin (not literally, I’m still taking acne medication) but psychologically I’m detached more, but not in a bad way. My relationship has been renewed and it’s quite private in a way that I know when we finally move back down South together it will be more so. And when that day comes, I’ll welcome it.

But most people read this blog because of what I fat cunt I’d become and let me tell you something ladies. I have eaten like a pig this Christmas. Even my mum said that she could see a difference in my waist line between my arriving home and leaving 5 days later – Now that’s a fucking achievement. (of sorts)

So here goes nothing, Tomorrow is the first day of a new year (well actually it’s the second, but KFC for lunch has changed that) and I’m back on the Cambridge diet. So I’m going to be hating life and complaining about hunger for the next 5 days before that Ketosis bollocks kicks in; and I’m also going to (shock) try and get some running in. Nothing major to begin with, my poor body is fat, sluggish and craves carbs at the moment. So this is going to be interesting (or tragic). Watch this space. 

